Forums

Passing Variable between Header and Body

sasserc 26 Jan, 2010
Ok, I give up. I'm a newbie but I have done two Joomla sites and one was launched last week as an event registration site.

I decided to start a new Thread.

I used CF with no problems, in fact we have 100+ people registered since Friday. I wanted to create accessible with a login and contained alternating colored rows in the list/table. The form/list is work no problem, but I really wanted to alternate row colors.

After reading all the forums this looked fairly simple. Just use php (which I have never used before)and decare a variable in the form header and then increment the variable in the body and use that to determine an "odd" class to set the color in a CSS. No problem, right. 😟

After spending all day Sunday trying to make this work, I finally realized that CC would not pass a variable between the header and body. I have search all the forums and it seems everyone else is able to make this work, however, None of the code I found would work.

So I finally decided to do something really simple and created the following VERY simple code:

Header Code:
<?php $i=0; ?>

Body Code:
<?php echo $i; ?>

The result, nothing is created. However if I echo the value of the variable in the header, it is viewable or if I declare the variable and echo in the Body, it is viewable.

Conclusion:

I can NOT pass a variable from header to footer.

Any thought??

CC version is 2.0 RC
Joomla Version is 1.5.15
php is 4.4.9
sql is 5.0.81-community
host is Lunarpages shared host
Apache version is 1.3.41 (Unix)
GreyHead 26 Jan, 2010
Hi sasserc,

The body scope is different but I think this will work if you declare the variable as global:
Head:
<?php 
global $i;
$i=0; 
?>

Body:
<?php 
global $i;
echo $i; 
?>
. . . // display data record
<?php
$i++;
?>

Bob
sasserc 26 Jan, 2010
Awesome. Works great I'll be dangerous now. (my first working php)

I moved your footer code:
<?php $i++; ?>