Buy Now
Sign in

A few issues..

Lord Meshadieme , September 04 2010, 12:24
L
Lord Meshadieme 8
September 04 2010, 12:24 #57079
Hello,

I'm trying to develop a site to showcase swf files that the users will submit, this is my first attempt of using joomla and chronoform and i am starting like it. Here's the 'but', two issue are problematic so far.

1) I've used the hidden field method to display variables in the forms from the joomla user database like so

<?php
// Get user-information from Joomla
$user = &JFactory::getUser();
?>
<input type="hidden" name="usersname" id="usersname" size="20"
maxlength="40" value="<?= $user->username; ?>" />

and i use the {usersname} tags in the email template to display the field in the emails sent. The wierd thing is that only the {emailadd} tag is working, while the username and name are not. what is wrong here?

2) The second issue is i can't seem to think of a way to dynamically, call the "display swf file" page. i mean i won't have to create individual pages each time a new entry is added obviously. So far i've used ChrnoConnectivity to Show a "Listing" of all the swf's. and i want them to clickable to direct it to ONE form which dynamically loads the correct swf and other information from the database. So the first issue how would the "which swf" variable be passed through the page, and how to make the next page, technically it's still using a database link so chronoconnectivty might do it. So how do i go about this.

Regards,
Lord Meshadieme
GreyHead 65
September 04 2010, 13:45 #57083
Hi Lord Meshadieme,

The username code looks OK. It will only work if the user is logged in though.

If you turn on Debug in the form General tab you can see what info is being submitted.

To select a particular swf you'll need to pass some kind of 'id' so that you can look it up. If you created your tables with ChronoForms this would usually be the cf_id - basically you add &cf_id=999 to the url.

Bob